AME announces 2018 Award Winners

by Keith Powell
AME is the lead association for the mineral exploration and development industry based in British Columbia.

AME is the lead association for the mineral exploration and development industry based in British Columbia. — Photo courtesy AME

The Association for Mineral Exploration (“AME”) is proud to announce its 2018 Celebration of Excellence Award winners. Leaders will be recognized for their significant efforts and contribution to the industry at the renowned AME Awards Gala on January 30 during the AME Roundup 2019 conference. Tickets are available through registration at

Commenting on the Award Winners success, ‘Lyn Anglin, Chair of the AME Board of Directors, said:

“Congratulations to the industry leaders who are receiving AME’s 2018 awards. I am honoured to commend each winner for their momentous contributions to our industry, paving the way for its future beneficiaries. The theme of AME’s 2019 Roundup conference is ‘Elements for Discovery’ and these individuals and teams, through their remarkable efforts in elements of exploration, development and outreach, have generated discoveries and advancements which will bring benefits to the many diverse communities throughout British Columbia and Canada. The Awards Gala at Roundup is a chance for us all to recognize and rejoice in their accomplishments.”

This year’s Award Winners are:

Al McOnie, Seymour Iles and Jared Chipman of Alexco Resource Corp. are the recipients of the 2018 H.H. “Spud” Huestis Award for Excellence in Prospecting and Mineral Exploration. They have been responsible for the recent discovery and delineation of more than 60 million ounces of silver in the Flame & Moth and Bermingham deposits in the Keno Hill Silver District of central Yukon.

John McCluskey is the recipient of the 2018 Murray Pezim Award for Perseverance & Success in Financing Mineral Exploration. He is being honoured for his pivotal role in acquiring, financing and encouraging the successive discoveries of the La India (Grayd Resources), Mulatos (Alamos Gold) and Kemess East (AuRico Metals) deposits. In addition, he is being honoured for his ongoing success as CEO of Alamos Gold.

Eric Friedland, Executive Chairman of Peregrine Diamonds, Geoff Woad, former head of World Diamond Exploration for BHP Billiton and Brooke Clements, former President of Peregrine Diamonds are recipients of the 2018 Hugo Dummett Award for Excellence in Diamond Exploration and Development, in recognition of their roles in discovering the Chidliak Diamond Province on Baffin Island in Nunavut.

Dr. Tom Henricksen is the recipient of the 2018 Colin Spence Award for Excellence in Global Mineral Exploration, recognized for his outstanding contributions to mineral discovery, and being involved in some monumental discoveries and or/acquisitions across the world.

Matt Andrews and Monica Moretto are the 2018 recipients of the Robert R. Hedley Award for Excellence in Social and Environmental Responsibility. Their leadership has created an environment within Pan American Silver Corp. of respect for social and environmental principles on all its projects.

Paycore Drilling is the recipient of the 2018 David Barr Award for Excellence in Leadership and Innovation in Mineral Exploration Health and Safety. Paycore Drilling is recognized for its professionalism and care following an incident in Mineral Exploration.

Dan Moore “Yukon Dan” and Peter Bradshaw, recognized with the 2018 Gold Pan Award for exceptional meritorious service to the mineral exploration community through the Association for Mineral Exploration British Columbia (AME).

J. Greg Dawson and Victoria Yehl, honoured with the 2018 Frank Woodside award for distinguished service to the Association for Mineral Exploration British Columbia (AME) and/or the mineral exploration industry.

The two recipients of AME’s Outreach Education Fund are MineralsEd to support delivery of the Kids & Rocks Classroom Workshop in 2019 and Britannia Mine Museum to support the 2019 continuation of its well-established Education Program.

Dr. Norman Keevil, acknowledged with a Special Tribute from AME for his outstanding achievements and major contributions to and support of exploration, discovery and development in British Columbia and adjacent parts of the Cordillera.

See the Full Awards Citations and Backgrounder.

About AME

AME is the lead association for the mineral exploration and development industry based in British Columbia. Established in 1912, AME represents, advocates and promotes the interests of almost 5,000 members who are engaged in mineral exploration and development in BC and globally. AME encourages a safe, economically strong and environmentally responsible industry by providing clear initiatives, policies, events and tools to support its membership in delivering responsible projects that advance reconciliation and provide benefit to all British Columbians.

Related articles

Large piece of machinery with person standing in bucket.
Mining Insider, Exploration, Mines, Northwest Territories, Nunavut, Yukon $500,000 federal funding to help promote northern mining at annual conference

The Yukon Mining Alliance will use the funding to help showcase the opportunities in the North at the annual PDAC Conference in Toronto

by Julie Matchett
Geoscience representative discussing info at open house with a man.
Mining Insider, Exploration, Minerals, Mines, British Columbia Geoscience BC targets ‘hidden’ Central Interior copper-gold deposits

The Central Interior Copper-Gold Research series aims to better understand potential deposits, attract investment and encourage exploration

by Julie Matchett
Close-up picture of PDAC Award, showing two stylized white hands holding up a transparent diamond shape printed with PDAC logo.
Mining Insider, Exploration, First Nations, Minerals, Mines, Global PDAC 2020 awards honour industry leaders

The 2020 PDAC Award recipients have been announced, celebrating outstanding achievement in the Canadian and international mining industry

by Julie Matchett
View all Mining Insider articles